Aitkin County Board to elect Board Chair, Vice Chair at January 5th meeting

Aitkin County Board to elect Board Chair, Vice Chair at January 5th meeting

January 1, 2021 News News -- KKIN-KFGI-KLKS-WWWI 0

By Paul Vold (1/1/21)

(Aitkin, MN) — The Aitkin County Board will swear in new Commissioners and elect a new Board Chair and Vice Chair at their first meeting of 2021 on Tuesday, January 5th at 9am.

The meeting will begin with Ninth Judicial District Judge David Hermerding swearing in Laurie Westerland as District 2 Commissioner and Brian Napstad as District 4 Commissioner. 

County Administrator Jessica Seibert will Call the 2021 Board Meeting to Order at 9:15am and open Nominations for Board Chair and Vice Chair.

Following the Nominations, the Board will review the Consent Agenda with items including Extension Committee Reappointments, Reaffirm Annual Code of Ethics, Renew SSTS and Permit Inspection Contract, and approve County Relief Grants Certification and award a contract for the DNR to crush 85,000 tons of aggregate at two county-owned pits.

At 9:28am, Land Commissioner Rich Courtemanche will present to the Board requests and resolutions for Purchase of Enterprise Version of ESRI GIS Software, Conveyance of Tax Forfeited Land to Hill City, and a City of Palisade Request for Parcel in City Limits. 

County Engineer John Welle will open discussion of the 2019/2020 Highway Contract Summary, and will seek approval on the 2021 Highway Contract Schedule, Speed Zone Studies for CSAH 3 and 10, and the Trunk Highway 210 Detour Agreement around 9:58am.

Human Resources Director Bobbie Danielson, around 10:43am, will seek approval of Personnel Committee Recommendations for a temporary COVID-19 policy and part-time employee to administer the State COVID Relief Package.

At 10:53am, Administrator Seibert will present resolutions including 2021 Board of Commissioner Meeting Procedures, Designation of Official County Newspaper, 2021 Committee Appointments, and approve setting the 2021 Board Meeting Schedule.

The Aitkin County Board of Commissioners will meet Tuesday at 9am from the Aitkin County Government Board Room.