New Board Chair, Vice Chair chosen at Aitkin County Board Meeting from January 5th

New Board Chair, Vice Chair chosen at Aitkin County Board Meeting from January 5th

January 7, 2021 News News -- KKIN-KFGI-KLKS-WWWI 0

By Paul Vold (1/7/21)

(Aitkin, MN) — The Aitkin County Board of Commissioners held their first meeting of 2021 with elections of Chair and Vice Chair, 2021 updates, and Highway projects from the Aitkin County Government Center Board room.

Commissioner J. Mark Wedel was nominated and voted to Board Chair and Commissioner Anne Marcotte was named to the Vice Chair position, after Commissioners Laurie Westerlund and Brian Napstad were sworn in by Judge David Hermerding.

Land Commissioner Rich Courtemanche presented to the Board to purchase an updated version of their GIS Software.

The purchase for the Enterprise Version of the ESRI GIS Software was approved, along with a Conveyance of Tax Forfeited Land to the City of Hill City and the City of Palisade. 

Following discussion on the 2019/2020 Highway Contract Summaries, County Engineer John Welle provided more information on the 2021 Highway Contract Schedule for Board approval.

The Board approved the Contract Schedule, along with Speed Zone Studies on CSAH 3 and 10, and Detour Agreement for Trunk Highway 210 west of McGregor beginning early July 2021.

Human Resources Director Bobbie Danielson presented to the Board on updating the County’s COVID-19 policy.

The policy for emergency paid sick leave for employees who qualify was approved with adjustments. Approval was also given for a temporary hire to administer the State COVID relief package. 

County Administrator Jessica Seibert reports included the passage of the 2021 Board of Commissioners Meeting Procedures, designating the Aitkin Independent Age as the County Newspaper, 2021 Committee Appointments and Board Meeting Schedule. Administrator Seibert spoke about State COVID relief funds based on the Department of Revenue’s relief funds.

The Aitkin County Board also approved their meeting schedule for the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month. The Board will next meet on Tuesday, January 26th from the Aitkin County Government Center Board Room.