DNR added multiples counties for Burn Restriction list

DNR added multiples counties for Burn Restriction list

March 30, 2021 News News -- KKIN-KFGI-KLKS-WWWI 0

By Paul Vold kkinradio@embarqmail.com (3/31/21)

(Minnesota) — More Minnesota counties have been added to the Department of Natural Resources burn restriction list for Wednesday, March 31st with the warm and dry weather continuing across the state.

The DNR has added Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Hennepin, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Ramsey, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Washington, and Wright counties will be restricted to burning. 

The state will also not issue burning permits for brush or yard waste in these counties until these restrictions are lifted.

Restrictions remain in place for Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, and Roseau counties. 

If people need to dispose of yard waste, the DNR recommends composting, chipping, or taking brush to a collection site. People who burn debris will be held financially responsible if their fires escape and burn other property.