Sorenson named Board Chair, Doten Vice Chair at McGregor School Board meeting on January 10th

Sorenson named Board Chair, Doten Vice Chair at McGregor School Board meeting on January 10th

January 11, 2022 ---School News - KKIN/KFGI/KLKS/WWWI News News -- KKIN-KFGI-KLKS-WWWI 0

By Paul Vold (1/12/22)

(McGregor, MN) — The McGregor School Board Monday night held a special session and their Organizational meeting to review personnel matters and establish their Board for 2022.

During the Organizational Meeting, The Board moved to elect Heather Sorenson as Chair, Larry Doten as Vice Chair, Pat Scollard as Clerk and Jennifer Brekke as Treasurer for 2022.

In the special session meeting, the leave of absence request for Business Education teacher Joe Wisotzke effective for the 2022-23 School Year, which now leaves an open position.

The request was approved conditionally effective June 1st and the Board is reviewing the open position as either a long-term substitute or a 1-year position. A switch of track coaches, Josh Sampson to JV and Dakota Haapoja to junior high, was approved based on their recommendation according to Activities Director Bob Staska.

The Board also discussed approving Policy 491 of Mandatory COVID-19 Vaccination or Testing and Face Coverings, which could have a financial impact on the School District.

The Board moved to table the Policy for approval until further guidance by the Supreme Court at their January 24th meeting.

The Board also approved the keep meeting on the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month at 6pm. Salaries were set for $55 for one meeting, $75 for a half day meeting, and $150 for a full day meeting. The Board Chair will make $50, Vice Chair $100, Treasurer $55 per month, and Clerk $100 for 2022. 

Board member Jennifer Brekke was absent from the meeting but expressed her interest in leaving the Facility Committee but would serve as an alternate. All other committees remained unchanged from last year.

Approval was also given to the Elementary Principal and Superintendent contracts for Brad Johnson, the resignation of Senior Class Advisor Livia Carlstrom and her maternity leave, Amanda Gruhlke as 6th Grade Teacher at lane BA+30 step 0, and Pablo Rodriquez as High School Math Teacher effective January 17th.

The McGregor School Board will next meet on Monday, January 24th at 6pm from the High School Library.