Section 8 9-Man Football Championship

Section 8 9-Man Football Championship

November 3, 2022 0


Section 8 9-Man Football Championship – Goodridge/Grygla 20, #1 Kittson County Central 35

Kittson County Central turned four takeaways into touchdowns as the Bearcats came from behind to defeat Goodridge/Grygla 35-20 Thursday for the Section 8 9-man football championship at the Fargodome.

Goodridge/Grygla controlled the first half, as Matt Busse scored on a three yard first quarter run late in the first quarter and Blake Rychlock threw a 20 yard scoring pass to Kehan Nelson in the second to give the Chargers a 14-0 halftime lead.

But things changed in the second half.  Linebacker Zander Anderson intercepted a Rychlock pass early in the third quarter and returned it to the Goodridge/Grygla 15 yard line.  Five plays later, Chisum Schmiedeberg scored the first of his five touchdowns on a three yard run.  Isaac Folland’s extra point made it a 14-7 game.

On the Chargers’ next possession, Rychlock fumbled and the Bearcats recovered on the Goodridge/Grygla 32.  Five plays later, Schmiedeberg scored from six yards out and Folland’s PAT tied the game at 14.

The Bearcats got another third quarter turnover when Braden Faken intercepted a pass from Kaylor Torgerson pass. Early in the fourth quarter, Shmiedeberg scored on a seven yard run to give Kittson County Central their first lead, 21-14.

Schmiedeberg scored a defensive touchdown when a Charger pitchout hit Lewis Jones in the helmet. The Bearcat senior picked up the loose ball and ran it back 44 yards for another score.

With 3:54 to play Schmiedeberg finished a ten play, 58 yard drive with a one yard touchdown run to make it 35-14.

Rychlock and Jones connected on a 15 yard touchdown pass with 2:07 to play, making the final score 35-20 in favor of Kittson County Central.

Schmiedeberg finished with 193 yards rushing on 32 carries.

The Bearcats improve to 11-0 and win their second straight Section 8 title.

Goodridge/Grygla ends the season 8-3.

Comments from Kittson County Central Coach Cory Waling.


Kittson County Central35Win